Crime Local government Nation People

The Eight Judases Who Killed Philippine Democracy

The Eight Judases Who Killed Philippine Democracy

Say goodbye to judicial independence, rule of law and Philippine democracy.

In a decision that will reshape the country’s constitutional democracy as we know it to be, the Supreme Court ruled to oust its own chief justice by granting the petition for quo warranto filed by Solicitor General Jose Calida.

Voting 8-6, the majority voted to remove Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno for her alleged failure to meet the integrity requirements for members of the judiciary.

Retired justices, legal luminaries, law deans and law professors as well as law organizations like the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) share the opinion that quo warranto is a wrong and unconstitutional way of ousting a chief justice. They correctly aver that as an impeachable officer, the only lawful mode of removing the top magistrate is via impeachment.

Several civil society, cause-oriented groups, the academe and incumbent and former lawmakers also appealed to the justices to respect the constitution and uphold the rule of law by dismissing the petition and let the impeachment process takes its course.

Unfortunately, all the calls, appeals and protestations fell on deaf ears as eight members of the high court refused to see the light and voted in favor of the petition.

So who are the members of the Supreme Court who betrayed the Filipino people this fateful day?

1. Teresita de Castro

2. Diosdado Peralta

3. Lucas Bersamin

4. Francis Jardeleza

5. Noel Tijam

6. Samuel Martires

7. Andres Reyes, Jr.

8. Alexander Gesmundo

We purposely did not address the eight as justices because they do not deserve such title.

These eight are shameless traitors. They are hoodlums in robes.

They are judases who turned their backs to their oath of office.

They are enemies of the Filipino people.